Utah opening guide
Open a food business under the Bear River Health Department
Permit steps, plan review and contact details for Box Elder, Cache and Rich Counties, read from the department's own pages.
Start your 25 days free See it work
25 days free. Cancel anytime.
Food permit steps
The permit steps,
in order.
- Anyone serving food to the public needs a food permit; all employees serving, prepping or working in a food service kitchen need a food handler permit.
- Use the Food Establishment Information Packet and All Food Applications portal (myhealthdepartment.com/brhdut).
- Pay the plan review fee for the risk category, then the permit fee.
- Mobile food: Mobile Food Information Packet, Commissary Agreement Form and Restroom Agreement Form.
Print it and tick each step as you finish it, so nothing is missed on inspection day.
Plan review
Send your plans
before you build.
The department's fee list has plan review fees for permanent food places and for mobile food. Its Food Establishment Information Packet holds the written requirements, so read the packet before you build.
Forms and guides from the department
The checklist shows what an inspector can check, so your plans match it.
Fees
What the department
has published.
As published on September 29, 2026 in brhdut.gov/services/environmental:
- Plan review, Risk 1 / 2 / 3 / 4: 500 dollars / 600 dollars / 700 dollars / 800 dollars
- Moderate plan review / change of ownership: 250 dollars
- Permanent food permit, Risk 1 / 2 / 3 / 4: 250 dollars / 350 dollars / 450 dollars / 550 dollars
- Additional catering permit: 200 dollars
- Mobile food plan review: 800 dollars
- Mobile food permit Tier 1 / Tier 2: 350 dollars / 500 dollars
- Microenterprise kitchen, initial / annual renewal: 300 dollars / 100 dollars
- Temporary event / multi-event permit: 70 dollars / 225 dollars (+75 dollars day-of-event late fee)
Fees change, and this list may not cover every case. For any fee not listed here, ask the department for the current fee, and read its food permit page.
See the daily checks that fill your binder while you wait on your permit.
Trucks and home kitchens
Not a restaurant?
Ask first.
Food trucks and carts
This department posts mobile food forms: Mobile Food Information Packet. Mobile food businesses follow Utah Rule R392-102, not the restaurant rule, so ask the department for its food truck steps.
Home kitchens
Bear River lists a microenterprise home kitchen (MEHK) permit. Utah Code 26B-7-416 says a local health department "may grant" one, so confirm the steps with the department.
Each guide shows the rule behind a check, so you know why it is asked.
Food handler permits
Every worker needs one
within 30 days.
Page links the state-approved online provider list (epi.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/foodHandler_list.pdf). Fee for the local permit not stated on the page.
Utah Code 26B-7-413: finish approved training within 14 days of starting, and get the food handler permit within 30 days.
CleanCleaver keeps each worker's 14 and 30 day dates on one board, so nobody's permit slips.
City business licenses
The city license
is a separate step.
Logan
The city says a business license usually takes up to 2 weeks after you submit. The Bear River Health Department Logan office is the food permit authority. City business license page (read September 29, 2026).
The checklist puts the city license and the health permit in one order.
Contact
Who to call,
and who they cover.
The Bear River Health Department covers Box Elder, Cache and Rich Counties.
- Website: brhdut.gov
- Food permit page: brhdut.gov/contact
- Phone: (435) 792-6570 (Logan Environmental Health Building)
- Address: 85 East 1800 North, Logan, Utah 84341
Your county health department has the final word.
Bring the checklist to your first call, so you ask the right questions.
Local suppliers (for information only)
Local suppliers
for information only.
Listed for information. Not a recommendation, and not a partnership.
- Cache Valley Extermination, Cache Valley (Logan area). Offers: pest control. (Read September 29, 2026.)
- Elevate Pest Control, Logan. Offers: pest control. (Read September 29, 2026.)
- Love to Cook, Logan. Offers: kitchen supply retail. (Read September 29, 2026.)
Whatever you buy, the app shows the daily checks it will need.
Sources and access date
Where each fact
came from.
Every fact on this page was read from the pages below. Rules and fees change, so check the department's page before you act.
- brhdut.gov (read September 29, 2026)
- brhdut.gov/contact (read September 29, 2026)
- brhdut.gov/services/environmental (read September 29, 2026)
- myhealthdepartment.com/brhdut (read September 29, 2026)
- drive.google.com/open?id=19N2hMDV_G8MKb7VlCTxipBaeDPA4-4pG (read September 29, 2026)
- drive.google.com/open?id=1fiDuml2XYcE81CaDIdYkUc6bKt-gJRgZ (read September 29, 2026)
- loganutah.gov/government/departments/community_development/business_lice (read September 29, 2026)
- cachevalleyextermination.com (read September 29, 2026)
- elevatepestcontrol.com/locations (read September 29, 2026)
- luvtocook.com (read September 29, 2026)
- le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26B/Chapter7/26B-7-S413.html (read September 29, 2026)
- le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26B/Chapter7/26B-7-S416.html (read September 29, 2026)
The final word
Your county health department
has the final word.
This page is information, not legal advice. Rules and fees change, and the Bear River Health Department decides what applies to your place. Call before you build or buy.
Start your daily logs now, so your binder is filling before the inspector's first visit.
Questions
Before you
start.
Do I need plan review before I build in Bear River?
The department's fee list has plan review fees for permanent food places and for mobile food. Its Food Establishment Information Packet holds the written requirements, so read the packet before you build.
Which counties does the Bear River Health Department cover?
The Bear River Health Department covers Box Elder, Cache and Rich Counties. Phone: (435) 792-6570 (Logan Environmental Health Building). Its food permit page is https://brhdut.gov/contact/.
How do I get a food handler permit in Bear River?
Page links the state-approved online provider list (https://epi.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/foodHandler_list.pdf). Fee for the local permit not stated on the page. Utah Code 26B-7-413 says to finish approved training within 14 days of starting and to get the food handler permit within 30 days.
What does a food permit cost in Bear River?
As published on September 29, 2026 at https://brhdut.gov/services/environmental/: Plan review, Risk 1 / 2 / 3 / 4, 500 dollars / 600 dollars / 700 dollars / 800 dollars; Moderate plan review / change of ownership, 250 dollars; Permanent food permit, Risk 1 / 2 / 3 / 4, 250 dollars / 350 dollars / 450 dollars / 550 dollars; Mobile food plan review, 800 dollars. Fees change, so ask the department for the current fee.
Your binder is ready when the inspector is.
Pick your place. Start with one shift.
Start your 25 days free See it work
25 days free. Cancel anytime.
Questions? Call or text (415) 640-1667